Understanding UCAT: How Universities in the UK, Australia, and New Zealand Use UCAT Scores for Medical School Admissions

If you’re aspiring to pursue a career in medicine in the UK, Australia, or New Zealand, chances are you’ve come across the UCAT (University Clinical Aptitude Test). With over 40 universities across these regions requiring the UCAT test, understanding how each institution utilizes UCAT scores can significantly impact your application strategy and increase your chances of securing a spot in medical school. 

In the United Kingdom, the landscape of medical school admissions is diverse, with each institution employing varying approaches to assess UCAT scores. Similarly, in Australia and New Zealand, several prestigious universities rely on the UCAT ANZ (University Clinical Aptitude Test for Australia and New Zealand) for their medical school admissions.

Here’s a comprehensive list of universities in the UK, Australia, and New Zealand that require the UCAT for medical school admissions:

UCAT Universities in the UK:

  1. Aberdeen University
  2. Anglia Ruskin University
  3. Aston University
  4. Birmingham University
  5. Brighton & Sussex
  6. Bristol University
  7. Cambridge University
  8. Cardiff University
  9. Dundee University
  10. Edge Hill University
  11. Edinburgh University
  12. Exeter University
  13. Glasgow University
  14. Hull York Medical School
  15. Imperial College London
  16. Keele University
  17. Kent and Medway Medical School
  18. King’s College London
  19. Lancaster University
  20. Leicester University
  21. Leeds University
  22. Liverpool University
  23. Manchester University
  24. Newcastle University
  25. Norwich Medical School (UEA)
  26. Nottingham University
  27. Plymouth University
  28. Queen Mary University of London (Barts)
  29. Queen’s University Belfast
  30. Sheffield University
  31. Southampton University
  32. St Andrews University
  33. St George’s, University of London
  34. Sunderland University
  35. University College London (UCL)
  36. Warwick University

UCAT Universities in Australia and New Zealand:

  1. The University of Adelaide
  2. Charles Sturt University
  3. Curtin University
  4. Flinders University
  5. Monash University
  6. The University of Newcastle / University of New England (Joint Medical Program)
  7. The University of New South Wales
  8. The University of Queensland
  9. University of Tasmania
  10. The University of Western Australia
  11. Western Sydney University
  12. The University of Auckland
  13. University of Otago

Understanding how universities in these regions utilize UCAT scores can provide valuable insights for prospective applicants. By researching and comprehending the UCAT requirements of each university thoroughly, aspiring medical students can tailor their applications strategically and increase their chances of success in securing a place in medical school.

Scroll to Top
Call Now Button